Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I Have a (New) Publisher! + Giveaway

I can announce it at last, since the final T's are crossed and the I's dotted—I've signed a contract with Entangled Teen to publish my science fiction debut, THE BODY INSTITUTE. Woo!

My release date will be fall of 2015, so I can still be a part of the Fearless Fifteeners, a group of authors with books releasing next year. Check out the awesome MG and YA books and their writers on this site, HERE

To celebrate—as well as helping downsize for my upcoming move from California back to Oregon next month—I'm giving away the following ARC books! (advanced reader copies, which means they are uncorrected proofs and may have a few typos)

To enter:
1. Comment below, and mention that you'd like to be entered.
2. If you have a preference which book you want to win, tell me!
3. Enter before midnight PST on October 6, 2014.
4. The winners will be chosen in a random drawing.
5. Winners will be contacted and announced here on October 8, 2014.

THE BOOKS:


BLYTHEWOOD by Carol Goodman
At seventeen, Avaline Hall has already buried her mother, survived a horrific factory fire, and escaped from an insane asylum. Now she’s on her way to Blythewood Academy, the elite boarding school in New York’s mist-shrouded Hudson Valley that her mother attended—and was expelled from. Though she’s afraid her high society classmates won’t accept a factory girl in their midst, Ava is desperate to unravel her family’s murky past, discover the identity of the father she’s never known, and perhaps finally understand her mother’s abrupt suicide. She’s also on the hunt for the identity of the mysterious boy who rescued her from the fire. And she suspects the answers she seeks lie at Blythewood.

But nothing could have prepared her for the dark secret of what Blythewood is, and what its students are being trained to do. Haunted by dreams of a winged boy and pursued by visions of a sinister man who breathes smoke, Ava isn’t sure if she’s losing her mind or getting closer to the truth. And the more rigorously Ava digs into the past, the more dangerous her present becomes.

CITY OF A THOUSAND DOLLS by Miriam Forster
The girl with no past, and no future, may be the only one who can save their lives.

Nisha was abandoned at the gates of the City of a Thousand Dolls when she was just a little girl. Now sixteen, she lives on the grounds of the isolated estate, where orphan girls apprentice as musicians, healers, courtesans, and, if the rumors are true, assassins. She makes her way as Matron's errand girl, her closest companions the mysterious cats that trail her shadow. Only when she begins a forbidden flirtation with the city's handsome young courier does she let herself imagine a life outside the walls. Until one by one, girls around her start to die.

Before she becomes the next victim, Nisha decides to uncover the secrets that surround the girls' deaths. But by getting involved, Nisha jeopardizes not only her own future in the City of a Thousand Dolls—but also her life.



A SPARK UNSEEN by Sharon Cameron
The thrilling sequel to Sharon Cameron's blockbuster gothic steampunk romance, THE DARK UNWINDING, will captivate readers anew.

When Katharine Tulman wakes in the middle of the night and accidentally foils a kidnapping attempt on her uncle, she realizes Stranwyne Keep is no longer safe for Uncle Tully and his genius inventions. She flees to Paris, where she hopes to remain undetected and also find the mysterious and handsome Lane, who is suspected to be dead.

But the search for Lane is not easy, and Katharine soon finds herself embroiled in a labyrinth of political intrigue. And with unexpected enemies and allies at every turn, Katharine will have to figure out whom she can trust—if anyone—to protect her uncle from danger once and for all.

THE CROWN OF EMBERS by Rae Carson
The second book in Rae Carson's award-winning fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones and Kristin Cashore. A seventeen-year-old princess turned war queen faces sorcery, adventure, untold power, and romance as she fulfills her epic destiny.

In THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS, Elisa won the war. She saved her kingdom. But no one prepared her for how hard it is to recover from a battle, or to rule a people who still don't trust her. She's still fighting—against assassination attempts and more—and her enemies lie both outside her court and within it. So Elisa will cross the ocean in search of the perilous, uncharted, and mythical source of the Godstone's power. With her go a one-eyed warrior, a loyal friend, an enemy defector, and the man she is falling in love with.

YOUR TURN
Have you heard of the Fearless Fifteeners? Check them out on Facebook HERE!
Have you read the steampunk novel, THE DARK UNWINDING?  (the giveaway book is the second in this series)
Have you read the fantasy novel, THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS?  (the giveaway book is the second in this series)

17 comments:

  1. Congrats to you, Carol!! I'm so excited for you and your book.
    I hadn't heard of the Fearless Fifteeners, but I'll check them out.
    And I haven't read either of the book 1s.
    If the ARCs are ebooks, then count me in, otherwise, don't worry. It costs way too much to send anything to Oz.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I just realised, why would they be ebooks if you are downsizing? lol!! I'm having one of those mornings.

      Delete
  2. Congratualtions on The Body Institute! That is excallent news! And what a great choice of books! I'd love to read City of a Thousand Dolls :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. What a cool way to celebrate! Sharing the love...congrats!
    Edge of Your Seat Stories

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh...and please enter me in the giveaway! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Congrats, Carol! So very excited for you. Am announcing this in Follower News on Monday and will put you on the schedule for next Fall for a debut interview.

    Let someone else win your giveaway. It's awesome but I've read some of these and am behind in my reading.

    ReplyDelete
  6. You so deserve this! I'm thrilled for you. Congratulations!!! I've love any of those books, but especially Blythewood or Crown of Embers.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Woot woot. Congrats. You go girl. Yahoo.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Carol! I've been thinking about you. So happy to hear about your book with Entangled. I've heard great things about them! I can't wait to read it. Let's catch up soon :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Yowzer! Congratulations, Carol! This couldn't have happened to a nicer person. It will be great to have you back in the Pacific Northwest. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hurray for Carol! Congratulations on your new book. You deserve it :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. So happy to hear this announcement!!!! Hurray! Your year is sure busy and full of unexpected surprises, isn't it?

    ReplyDelete
  12. Congratulations! :) Please enter me in the giveaway. City of a Thousand Dolls sounds like something I'd like to read! Thanks for having the giveaway and congrats again.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Wahoo! I'm so stoked for you. (And it's about time!) I'd love to be entered into the giveaway. The first two titles have got my interest. (I love ARCs. Don't you love ARCs?)

    ReplyDelete
  14. YAY, CAROL!!!! It was a long time coming. I am so thrilled for you!

    Yes, books, books, and more books... LOVE THEM... The Spark Unseen peaks my interest... I must read the first, first, LOL.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Awesome news and congratulations, Carol!!! I'm so excited for you! Can't wait until I get my hands on a copy of THE BODY INSTITUTE when it gets out in the wild this fall of 2015! ;)

    And all the books in the giveaway look fabulous please enter me! I love them all, but I especially like the looks of THE CROWN OF EMBERS. :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. Congratulations, Carol. I'm so glad for you. I will look forward to reading your book when it comes out.

    ReplyDelete

Hi, bloggy buddies! I respond to all comments via email if you have an address linked to your profile. Sorry, I have had to turn OFF comments from Anonymous users due to Spam.